Tracking the journey of PRCA 3330

Is “Cyber Monday” the new “Black Friday”?

Posted on: November 20, 2010

It comes as no surprise that people are already worked up about holiday shopping. Holiday shopping has long been  one of the busiest (and most stressful) times of the year, and by the looks of it people are getting tired of it. A blog post by PR junkie discusses the growing trend of online shopping.

When you compare traditional in-store shopping with online shopping the conveniences of one definitely the other. With online shopping you can shop at any time of day or night. No need to worry about a store’s business hours. You also can escape the traffic and crowds that fill shopping centers, malls, and outlet malls during this time of year. I found the list of reasons people are turning to online shopping to be pretty funny, because the reasons I shop online are all listed!

1. Crowds (69 percent)
2. Long lines (58 percent)
3. Having to arrive early to get the best deals (50 percent)
4. Stores under-stocked on hot items (48 percent)
5. Parking lot pandemonium (37 percent)

My holiday season has never been about the presents, but I like to put a lot of thought and time into the gifts I give to my family. But there is something about fighting to buy gifts for your loved ones that just takes away from the Christmas spirit. For me, it’s a no brainer. Online shopping is the way to go!

2 Responses to "Is “Cyber Monday” the new “Black Friday”?"

I’m not surprised online shopping has grown so popular. Convenience is key when it comes to saving money and dealing with the hassles surrounding in-store shopping. Especially when you consider the deals offered for products purchased exclusively online. Which leads me to believe retailers are encouraging customers to surf the web to find the best deals. I completely agree that there is something unsettling about fighting to buy gifts for family members. Online shopping is a stress free option, perfect for this time of the year. Everything I’ve ever bought online has worked out perfectly. I’m a fan!

I agree that online shopping has become a new trend, and as an employee who has worked retail on Black Friday the past three years, I have noticed this trend first hand as well. I work for Citizen Watches and had many customers this past Black Friday simply want to see the watch in person, but did not want to purchase it that day. The reason being, the weekend after Black Friday there was a much better deal online! I tend to shop online as well.. I opted for valet parking this past Black Friday because I simply couldn’t find a place to park. You don’t have to worry about parking spaces on the internet. I agree.. Online shopping is definitely the way to go!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
