Tracking the journey of PRCA 3330

TOW 7- One week of TWITTER!

Posted on: September 28, 2010

I have to admit, I knew that the one week of twitter assignment was coming before I even read it in the syllabus. It seems that trying twitter has become a staple in most of my PR classes.

Before our week of tweeting began, I was already tweeting. But I think I was tweeting about the wrong things. It is hard to make the transition from “status updates” to “tweets”. On twitter, no one cares about what you had for lunch, that its raining outside, or what you’re watching on tv. If you want to maintain a good following, your tweets have got to be much more substantial than that. My favorite tweeters often post links to stories they find interesting.

During our week of twitter assignment, we had to follow PR professionals. Because of that, I find myself reading PR related news online so much more. We also had to follow our classmates… at first I didn’t see the importance of this, but looking at it now, it was a great way to get to know people in my class since we don’t sit in a classroom together every week.

I will definitely keep my twitter account open throughout college. Just in the short time I’ve had the account, I’ve seen links to AMAZING internship opportunities that I would have had no knowledge about if not for twitter. I feel like the PR professionals I follow take notice of the fact that I’m listening to what they have to say. Twitter is a great form of networking in general. A lot of on campus groups have a twitter account and let you know about different things than what they post on their Facebook. Despite the differences from twitter that I first complained about, I really do like it today. It serves a completely different purpose for me.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
