Tracking the journey of PRCA 3330

TOW6- It’s news to me!

Posted on: September 25, 2010

News to me can be a variety of topics. I love to be up to date on politics, sports, entertainment, and local happenings. No matter where I am in life, those are the areas of news that catch my attention. E! is one of my favorite networks just because it keeps me informed on all areas of entertainment. Who doesn’t enjoy good celebrity gossip now and then? I also enjoy watching ESPN to know the latest happenings in the world of sports. I’ve got to make sure I can keep up with the boys! I also try to watch a variety of news networks so that I have a well-rounded opinion of what is going on politically. This can be tricky because so many networks have become so one-sided. The local papers have become my favorite way to stay informed on the local scene. If I’m at home in Atlanta, I read the AJC, and if I’m at school in Statesboro I read the Statesboro Herald.

But that is just my opinion! In a society comprised of billions of people, there are bound to be different views on what should make the news. People with different opinions, backgrounds and interests are bound to have a variety of opinions. Despite the knowledge that you can’t please everyone, there are a few things to consider to make sure your news appeals to a wide audience.

  • Timeliness, considered by our text to be the most important characteristic of news, ensures that your news is current. Old news is as good as no news.
  • If a prominent social figure is involved, a story is more likely to be considered newsworthy.
  • It is very important to consider proximity when writing a story. The more localized, the better.
  • Make sure your story is significant to society. If they don’t know how it relates to them, why do they care?
  • Nothing grabs a public’s attention than something unusual.
  • By appealing to the human interest, you are more likely to grab a reader’s attention.
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
